Exclusive First Listen: Lady Antebellum

GRAMMY-winning country trio debut new song "Goodbye Town" from forthcoming album, Golden, only on
  • Photo: Dan MacMedan/
    Lady Antebellum
May 02, 2013 -- 9:53 am PDT

GRAMMY-winning country trio Lady Antebellum are set to release their new studio album, Golden, on May 7. Ahead of the album's release, has your exclusive first listen to the mid-tempo ballad "Goodbye Town."

"We embraced risk," says Lady Antebellum's Hillary Scott. "When you are pushing yourself to not go back to the same well, you're gonna come up with something different, or you'll find songs that are different. And that's what happened on [Golden]."

Comprising Dave Haywood, Charles Kelley and Scott, Lady Antebellum signed with Capitol Nashville in 2007 and released their first single, "Love Don't Live Here," which peaked at No. 3 on Billboard's Country Singles chart and appeared on the band's 2008 self-titled debut. Lady Antebellum peaked at No. 4 on the Billboard 200, earning the trio two GRAMMY nominations, including Best New Artist. Their sophomore set, Need You Now, appeared in 2010 and peaked at No. 1 on the Billboard 200, winning five statues at the 53rd Annual GRAMMY Awards, including Record Of The Year for the title track and Best Country Album.

With the release of Own The Night in 2011, Lady Antebellum top the Billboard 200 again and picked up Best Country Album honors at the 54th GRAMMY Awards. In 2012 they released a holiday album, On This Winter's Night. Co-produced by GRAMMY winner Paul Worley, who also co-produced Need You Now and Own The Night, Golden features 12 tracks, including the lead single "Downtown." Co-written with GRAMMY winner Josh Kear, Kelley has described "Goodbye Town" as his "favorite production on the record."

Email Newsletter