Stars To Salute Loretta Lynn

GRAMMY Salute To Country Music, presented by MasterCard, to pay tribute to Loretta Lynn's career, feature tribute performances
  • Loretta Lynn
  • Photo: Gregg DeGuire/
    Jack White and Loretta Lynn at the 47th Annual GRAMMY Awards in 2005
October 11, 2010 -- 9:23 am PDT

The Recording Academy will host GRAMMY Salute To Country Music honoring Loretta Lynn, presented by MasterCard, on Oct. 12 at Ryman Auditorium in Nashville. A three-time GRAMMY winner, Lynn will be saluted with performances by two-time GRAMMY winner Garth Brooks, pop/rock artist Kid Rock, country music songstress Martina McBride, GRAMMY-winning singer Gretchen Wilson, GRAMMY-winning artist Lee Ann Womack, and two-time GRAMMY-winning singer/actress Reba McEntire, who will also host the evening's festivities. Eight-time GRAMMY-winning musician/producer Jack White, Recording Academy President/CEO Neil Portnow, and Recording Academy Chair George J. Flanigen IV will participate in the event, which will also include a special presentation of The Recording Academy President's Merit Award to Lynn in honor of her dynamic career and contributions to country music.

With a career spanning 50 years, Lynn has created music infused with honesty and energy. From the beginning of her career in 1960, she introduced a strong, independent female voice at a time when women in country music were more reserved. She became an advocate for women with such hits as "Don't Come Home A-Drinkin' (With Lovin' On Your Mind)," "Your Squaw Is On The Warpath" and "The Pill." Her hit song "Coal Miner's Daughter," also the title of her 1976 autobiography, would later be made into an acclaimed feature film, garnering an Academy Award for Sissy Spacek, who played Lynn in the title role. In 2004 Lynn teamed up with White, who produced her two-time GRAMMY-winning album Van Lear Rose, which showcased her powerful vocals and skillful songwriting and further solidified her status as one of country music's trailblazing icons. Earlier this year, Lynn was honored with a Recording Academy Lifetime Achievement Award.


Email Newsletter