Special Merit Awards to honor 2016 class

John Cage, Celia Cruz, Earth, Wind & Fire, Herbie Hancock, Linda Ronstadt, and Run-D.M.C. among The Recording Academy's 2016 Special Merit Awards recipients
  • Run D.M.C
    Photo: Jeffrey Mayer/WireImage.com
  • Linda Ronstadt
    Photo: Chris Walter/Getty Images
    Linda Ronstadt
  • Maurice White, Earth, Wind & Fire
    Photo: Chris Walter/Getty Images
    Earth, Wind & Fire's Maurice White
  • Celia Cruz, blue outfit
    Photo: Frederick M. Brown/Getty Images
    Celia Cruz
  • Herbie Hancock, holding GRAMMY
    Photo: Mark Mainz/Getty Images
    Herbie Hancock
January 13, 2016 -- 6:00 am PST

The Recording Academy today announced its class of 2016 Special Merit Awards recipients. This year's Lifetime Achievement Award recipients are Ruth Brown, Celia Cruz, Earth, Wind & Fire, Herbie Hancock, Jefferson Airplane, Linda Ronstadt, and Run-D.M.C.; the Trustees Award honorees are John Cage, Fred Foster and Chris Strachwitz; and EMT and Dr. Harvey Fletcher are Technical GRAMMY Award recipients.

More information on the 2016 Special Merit Awards recipients

A special ceremony and concert celebrating the honorees will be held in the spring. Additional details regarding the ceremony will be announced in the coming weeks.

"Each year, The Academy has the distinct privilege of honoring those who have greatly contributed to our industry and cultural heritage, and this year we have a gifted and brilliant group of honorees," said Neil Portnow, President/CEO of The Recording Academy." Their exceptional accomplishments, contributions, and artistry will continue to influence and inspire generations to come."

The Lifetime Achievement Award honors performers who have made contributions of outstanding artistic significance to the field of recording, while the Trustees Award recognizes contributions in areas other than performance. Both awards are determined by vote of The Recording Academy's National Board of Trustees. Technical GRAMMY Award recipients are determined by vote of The Academy's Producers & Engineers Wing Advisory Council and Chapter Committees, and are ratified by The Academy's Trustees. The award is presented to individuals and companies who have made contributions of outstanding technical significance to the recording field.

The 58th Annual GRAMMY Awards will be broadcast live on CBS on Feb. 15 at 8 p.m. ET/PT. For breaking GRAMMY news, follow The Recording Academy's social networks on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Email Newsletter