Remembering Glenn Frey: Eagles to pay tribute on GRAMMYs

Don Henley, Bernie Leadon, Timothy B. Schmit, and Joe Walsh to join with Jackson Browne for a one-of-a-kind tribute to the late Eagles co-founder
  • Eagles' Glenn Frey plays guitar
    Photo: Tommaso Boddi/
    Glenn Frey
  • Eagles' Don Henley plays guitar
    Photo: Jay West/
    Don Henley
  • Eagles' Timothy B. Schmidt plays bass
    Photo: Anna Webber/Getty Images
    Timothy B. Schmidt
  • Eagles' Bernie Leadon plays guitar
    Photo: Tommaso Boddi/
    Bernie Leadon
  • Eagles' Joe Walsh plays guitar
    Photo: Kevin Winter/Getty Images
    Joe Walsh
  • Jackson Browne plays guitar
    Photo: Stefania D'Alessandro/Getty Images
    Jackson Browne
February 10, 2016 -- 10:05 am PST

Eagles members — eight-time GRAMMY winner and current nominee Don Henley, GRAMMY winner Bernie Leadon, three-time GRAMMY winner Timothy B. Schmit, and five-time GRAMMY winner Joe Walsh — will take part in a one-time-only special tribute to six-time GRAMMY winner Glenn Frey on the 58th Annual GRAMMY Awards. The late musician's bandmates will come together with close friend and collaborator Jackson Browne to perform a classic hit from the Eagles' legendary songbook.

"Glenn Frey's untimely passing was a huge loss for the entire creative community," said Neil Portnow, President/CEO of The Recording Academy. "For more than 45 years, the Eagles have played a significant role in shaping our musical landscape. We are honored to welcome the band, along with Jackson Browne, to the GRAMMY stage in tribute to Glenn's tremendous legacy."

Henley is currently nominated, with Stan Lynch, for Best American Roots Song for "The Cost Of Living" from his Cass County album.

As a co-founder of the Eagles, Frey's six GRAMMY wins included Record Of The Year for 1977 for "Hotel California," and, most recently, Best Pop Instrumental Performance for 2008 for "I Dreamed There Was No War." Three Eagles recordings, including 1976's Hotel California, have been inducted into the GRAMMY Hall Of Fame.

Previously announced 58th GRAMMY performers include Adele; Travis Barker; James Bay; Justin Bieber; Luke Bryan; Gary Clark Jr.; Andra Day; Diplo; Ellie Goulding; the "Hamilton" Broadway cast; Alice Cooper, Johnny Depp and Joe Perry of the Hollywood Vampires; Sam Hunt; Tori Kelly; Lady Gaga; Kendrick Lamar; John LegendLittle Big Town; Demi Lovato; Pitbull; Bonnie Raitt; Rihanna; Lionel Richie; Skrillex; Chris Stapleton; Robin Thicke; Meghan Trainor; Carrie Underwood; and The Weeknd.

The 58th Annual GRAMMY Awards are produced by AEG Ehrlich Ventures for The Recording Academy. Ehrlich is executive producer, Louis J. Horvitz is director, and David Wild and Ehrlich are the writers. Two-time GRAMMY winner LL Cool J will host Music's Biggest Night for the fifth consecutive year.

Taking place at Staples Center in Los Angeles, the 58th Annual GRAMMY Awards will be broadcast live in HDTV and 5.1 surround sound on CBS on Monday, Feb. 15 at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT.

For updates and breaking news, visit The Recording Academy's social networks on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.

Email Newsletter