Mumford & Sons, Elton John, Mavis Staples To Pay Tribute To Levon Helm On The 55th GRAMMY Awards

Tribute to the late Levon Helm to also feature Zac Brown and Alabama Shakes' Brittany Howard; Miguel and Wiz Khalifa also added to the lineup for Music's Biggest Night
  • Photo: Michael Kovac/Getty Images
    Zac Brown
  • Photo: Erika Goldring/Getty Images
    Alabama Shakes' Brittany Howard
  • Photo: John Shearer/
    Elton John
  • Photo: Steve Granitz/
    Mumford & Sons
  • Photo: Michael Kovac/
    Mavis Staples
  • Photo: Jeff Kravitz/
    T Bone Burnett
  • Photo: Erika Goldring/Getty Images
  • Photo: Jeff Kravitz/
    Wiz Khalifa
  • Photo: Kevin Winter/Getty Images
  • Photo: Kevin Winter/Getty Images
    Ryan Seacrest
  • Photo: Jeff Kravitz/
    Dave Grohl
February 06, 2013 -- 1:37 pm PST

Current nominees Zac Brown, Alabama Shakes' Brittany Howard and Mumford & Sons, along with five-time GRAMMY winner, GRAMMY Legend Award recipient and 2000 MusiCares Person of the Year honoree Elton John and GRAMMY winner and Recording Academy Lifetime Achievement Award recipient (as a member of the Staple Singers) Mavis Staples will join together for a special tribute to the late Levon Helm as part of the annual In Memoriam segment on the 55th Annual GRAMMY Awards telecast. Current nominee T Bone Burnett will serve as musical director for this special tribute to Helm. Additionally, current nominees Miguel and Wiz Khalifa also are set to perform on Music's Biggest Night. Helm was a member of the revered rock group the Band, which received a Recording Academy Lifetime Achievement Award in 2008. 

Thirteen-time GRAMMY winner Dave Grohl, three-time GRAMMY winner and current nominee Ne-Yo, and TV and radio host/producer (and newly appointed Honorary Chair of the GRAMMY Foundation Board) Ryan Seacrest will appear as presenters.

Current nominee Miguel is up for five awards: Song Of The Year, Best R&B Performance, and Best R&B Song for "Adorn," and Best Urban Contemporary Album for Kaleidoscope Dream, and Best Rap Song (along with Olubowale Akintimehin, S. Joseph Dew, Jerrin Howard, and Walker Johnson) for "Lotus Flower Bomb."

Twelve-time GRAMMY-winning producer Burnett, Howard, and Wiz Khalifa each have two nominations: Burnett is nominated twice for Best Song Written For Visual Media for "Abraham's Daughter" (from The Hunger Games) (along with Win Butler and Régine Chassagne) and "Safe & Sound" (from The Hunger Games) (along with Taylor Swift, John Paul White and Joy Williams); Howard is up for Best New Artist and Best Rock Performance for "Hold On" as a member of Alabama Shakes; and Wiz Khalifa is nominated for Best Pop Duo/Group Performance for "Payphone" (with Maroon 5), and Best Rap Song for "Young, Wild & Free" (along with Calvin Broadus, Chris Brody Brown, Peter Hernandez, Philip Lawrence, and Ari Levine).

Brown has a Best Country Album nod for Uncaged.

Previously announced performers for the 55th Annual GRAMMY Awards are current nominees Dierks Bentley and Miranda Lambert, the Black Keys, Kelly Clarkson, Fun., the Lumineers, Mumford & Sons, Frank Ocean, Rihanna, Taylor Swift, Carrie Underwood, and Jack White, as well as Elton John and current nominee Ed Sheeran performing live together for the first time, Alicia Keys and current nominees Maroon 5, current nominee Bruno Mars, Rihanna, and Sting in a special performance, and Justin Timberlake. The Black Keys, Fun., Howard, the Lumineers, Miguel, Ocean, Sheeran, and Wiz Khalifa will perform on the GRAMMY telecast for the first time.

Previously announced presenters are nominees Beyoncé, Hunter Hayes, Carly Rae Jepsen and Katy Perry, actor Kaley Cuoco, actor and three-time Emmy Award winner Neil Patrick Harris, five-time GRAMMY winner Faith Hill, singer/actor Jennifer Lopez, three-time GRAMMY winner Tim McGraw, actor Pauley Perrette, seven-time GRAMMY winner Prince, and four-time GRAMMY winner Keith Urban. Two-time GRAMMY winner LL Cool J returns as host of the music industry's premier event.

The 55th Annual GRAMMY Awards are produced by AEG Ehrlich Ventures for The Recording Academy. Ken Ehrlich is executive producer, Louis J. Horvitz is director, and David Wild and Ken Ehrlich are the writers.

The 55th Annual GRAMMY Awards will take place live on Sunday, Feb. 10 at Staples Center in Los Angeles and will be broadcast in high-definition TV and 5.1 surround sound on the CBS Television Network from 8–11:30 p.m. (ET/PT). The show also will be supported on radio worldwide via Dial Global, and covered online at and, and on YouTube.

For GRAMMY coverage, updates and breaking news, visit The Recording Academy's social networks on Twitter and Facebook.

Email Newsletter