LL Cool J, Travis Barker, Chuck D, Tom Morello, DJ Z-Trip To Team For GRAMMY Performance

Dr. John and Preservation Hall Jazz Band to join the Black Keys for performance; Stanley Clarke, Chick Corea and Kenny Garrett, and Juanes added to Music's Biggest Night
  • Photo: Gilbert Carrasquillo/Getty Images
    Chuck D
  • Photo: Lester Cohen/WireImage.com
  • Photo: Kevork Djansezian/Getty Images
    Travis Barker
  • Photo: Jeff Vespa/WireImage.com
    John Mayer
  • Photo: Michael Tullberg/Getty Images
    Kat Dennings
  • Photo: Lester Cohen/WireImage.com
    Kelly Rowland
  • Photo: Alexandra Wyman/WireImage.com
    Chick Corea and Stanley Clarke
  • Photo: Dan MacMedan/WireImage.com
    Bonnie Raitt
  • Photo: Ethan Miller/Getty Images
    DJ Z-Trip
  • Photo: Noel Vasquez/Getty Images
    Tom Morello
  • Photo: Jun Sato/WireImage.com
    Johnny Depp
  • Photo: Matthew Eisman/WireImage.com
    Kenny Garrett
  • Photo: Erika Goldring/Getty Images
    Dr. John
  • Photo: Michael Buckner/WireImage.com
    LL Cool J
  • Photo: Fotonoticias/WireImage.com
  • Photo: Paul Morigi/WireImage.com
    Ellen DeGeneres
  • Photo: Rodrigo Varela/WireImage.com
  • Photo: Matt Kent/WireImage.com
    The Black Keys' Dan Auerbach
February 07, 2013 -- 2:13 pm PST

Travis Barker, Chuck D, two-time GRAMMY winner and host LL Cool J, two-time GRAMMY winner Tom Morello, and DJ Z-Trip will join together; current nominee Dr. John and the Preservation Hall Jazz Band will join the Black Keys; three-time GRAMMY winner Stanley Clarke, current nominee Chick Corea and current nominee Kenny Garrett will pay tribute to Dave Brubeck; and current nominee Juanes will perform, all on the 55th Annual GRAMMY Awards telecast.

Emmy Award-winning talk show host and current nominee Ellen DeGeneres, actor Kat Dennings, actor Johnny Depp, seven-time GRAMMY winner John Mayer, current four-time nominee Nas, recording artist Pitbull, nine-time GRAMMY winner and current nominee Bonnie Raitt, and two-time GRAMMY winner Kelly Rowland will appear as presenters.

Eighteen-time GRAMMY winner Corea is up for five awards: two in Best Improvised Jazz Solo for "Hot House" (along with Gary Burton) and "Alice In Wonderland," two in Best Jazz Instrumental Album for Further Explorations (with Eddie Gomez and Paul Motian) and Hot House (with Gary Burton), and Best Instrumental Composition for "Mozart Goes Dancing."

Five-time GRAMMY winner Dr. John, GRAMMY winner Garrett, and GRAMMY winner and 19-time Latin GRAMMY winner Juanes each have one nomination: Dr. John is nominated in Best Blues Album for Locked Down; Garrett has a nod in Best Jazz Instrumental Album for Seeds From The Underground; and Juanes is up for Best Latin Pop Album for MTV Unplugged Deluxe Edition.

Previously announced performers for the 55th Annual GRAMMY Awards are current nominees Dierks Bentley and Miranda Lambert, the Black Keys, Kelly Clarkson, Fun., the Lumineers, Miguel and Wiz Khalifa, Mumford & Sons, Frank Ocean, Rihanna, Taylor Swift, Carrie Underwood, and Jack White, as well as Elton John and current nominee Ed Sheeran, Alicia Keys and current nominees Maroon 5, current nominee Bruno Mars, Rihanna, and Sting in a special performance, nominees Zac Brown, T Bone Burnett (as musical director), Brittany Howard (Alabama Shakes), and Mumford & Sons, along with five-time GRAMMY winner, GRAMMY Legend Award recipient, and 2000 MusiCares Person of the Year honoree Elton John and GRAMMY winner and Recording Academy Lifetime Achievement Award recipient (as a member of the Staple Singers) Mavis Staples in a special tribute to the late Levon Helm, and Justin Timberlake.

Previously announced presenters are nominees Beyoncé, Hunter Hayes, Carly Rae Jepsen, Ne-Yo, and Katy Perry, actor Kaley Cuoco, 13-time GRAMMY winner Dave Grohl, actor and three-time Emmy Award winner Neil Patrick Harris, five-time GRAMMY winner Faith Hill, singer/actor Jennifer Lopez, three-time GRAMMY winner Tim McGraw, actor Pauley Perrette, seven-time GRAMMY winner Prince, TV and radio host/producer (and newly appointed Honorary Chair of the GRAMMY Foundation Board) Ryan Seacrest, and four-time GRAMMY winner Keith Urban. LL Cool J returns as host of the music industry's premier event.

The 55th Annual GRAMMY Awards are produced by AEG Ehrlich Ventures for The Recording Academy. Ken Ehrlich is executive producer, Louis J. Horvitz is director, and David Wild and Ken Ehrlich are the writers.

The 55th Annual GRAMMY Awards will take place live on Sunday, Feb. 10 at Staples Center in Los Angeles and will be broadcast in high-definition TV and 5.1 surround sound on the CBS Television Network from 8–11:30 p.m. (ET/PT). The show also will be supported on radio worldwide via Dial Global, and covered online at GRAMMY.com and CBS.com, and on YouTube.

For GRAMMY coverage, updates and breaking news, visit The Recording Academy's social networks on Twitter and Facebook.


Email Newsletter