Exclusive First Listen: Uncle Daddy

Six-piece roots rock band debut new song "Rise Again" only on
  • Uncle Daddy
  • Uncle Daddy's Good Mourning
June 22, 2012 -- 1:05 pm PDT

Six-piece roots rock band Uncle Daddy are set to release their debut album, Good Mourning, on June 26. Ahead of the album's release, has your exclusive first listen to the track "Rise Again."

Steeped in a sound that combines elements of roots and Southern rock, Los Angeles-based Uncle Daddy features TJ Stafford (vocals/guitar), Christopher Allis (drums), Robbie Anderson (violin), Andrew Jed (mandolin/banjo/dobro), Noah Needleman (guitar/vocals), and Jacob Szekeley (cello). In 2010 Uncle Daddy released Hymn Project, Volume 1 with singer Chelsea Moon, as well as An Uncle Daddy Christmas featuring standard holiday songs such as "O Holy Night" and "Joy To The World." In 2011 the band released an EP titled Psalms Before The Storm, which features the single "Long Time" and a cover of Katy Perry's "E.T."

Good Mourning encompasses a period of intense introspection for Stafford and is inspired by a tumultuous period in his life. "The songs we write are a result of acknowledging every emotion and feeling that occurs in life," said Stafford. "Thus, what you hear is sometimes angry, loud and dirty. But you also hear a sense of humor, beauty and always a sense of hope."  

Uncle Daddy are scheduled to perform several dates in Southern California through July, with future dates expected to be announced.

Email Newsletter