Lifetime Achievement Award

This Special Merit Award is presented by vote of The Recording Academy's National Trustees to performers* who, during their lifetimes, have made creative contributions of outstanding artistic significance to the field of recording. (*Through 1972, recipients included non-performers.)


Past Recipients

Roy Acuff
Awarded: 1987Allman Brothers Band
Awarded: 2012Marian Anderson
Awarded: 1991Julie Andrews
Awarded: 2011Louis Armstrong
Awarded: 1972Eddy Arnold
Awarded: 2005Fred Astaire
Awarded: 1989Chet Atkins
Awarded: 1993Gene Autry
Awarded: 2009Burt Bacharach
Awarded: 2008Joan Baez
Awarded: 2007The Band
Awarded: 2008Count Basie
Awarded: 2002Beach Boys
Awarded: 2001Harry Belafonte
Awarded: 2000Tony Bennett
Awarded: 2001Irving Berlin
Awarded: 1968Leonard Bernstein
Awarded: 1985Chuck Berry
Awarded: 1984Art Blakey
Awarded: 2005Bobby "Blue" Bland
Awarded: 1997The Blind Boys Of Alabama
Awarded: 2009Booker T. & The MG's
Awarded: 2007David Bowie
Awarded: 2006James Brown
Awarded: 1992Dave Brubeck
Awarded: 1996Maria Callas
Awarded: 2007Cab Calloway
Awarded: 2008Glen Campbell
Awarded: 2012Benny Carter
Awarded: 1987(Original) Carter Family
Awarded: 2005Enrico Caruso
Awarded: 1987Pablo Casals
Awarded: 1989Johnny Cash
Awarded: 1999Ray Charles
Awarded: 1987Van Cliburn
Awarded: 2004Patsy Cline
Awarded: 1995Rosemary Clooney
Awarded: 2002Leonard Cohen
Awarded: 2010Nat "King" Cole
Awarded: 1990Ornette Coleman
Awarded: 2007John Coltrane
Awarded: 1992Perry Como
Awarded: 2002Sam Cooke
Awarded: 1999Cream
Awarded: 2006Bing Crosby
Awarded: 1962Bobby Darin
Awarded: 2010Sammy Davis Jr.
Awarded: 2001Miles Davis
Awarded: 1990Doris Day
Awarded: 2008Bo Diddley
Awarded: 1998Fats Domino
Awarded: 1987The Doors
Awarded: 2007Bob Dylan
Awarded: 1991David "Honeyboy" Edwards
Awarded: 2010Duke Ellington
Awarded: 1966Bill Evans
Awarded: 1994Everly Brothers
Awarded: 1997Ella Fitzgerald
Awarded: 1967The Four Tops
Awarded: 2009Aretha Franklin
Awarded: 1994The Funk Brothers
Awarded: 2004Judy Garland
Awarded: 1997Marvin Gaye
Awarded: 1996Dizzy Gillespie
Awarded: 1989Benny Goodman
Awarded: 1986Glenn Gould
Awarded: 2013Morton Gould
Awarded: 2005Stephane Grappelli
Awarded: 1997Grateful Dead
Awarded: 2007Al Green
Awarded: 2002Woody Guthrie
Awarded: 2000Charlie Haden
Awarded: 2013Merle Haggard
Awarded: 2006Roy Haynes
Awarded: 2011Jascha Heifetz
Awarded: 1989Jimi Hendrix
Awarded: 1992Woody Herman
Awarded: 1987Billie Holiday
Awarded: 1987Buddy Holly
Awarded: 1997John Lee Hooker
Awarded: 2000Lightnin' Hopkins
Awarded: 2013Lena Horne
Awarded: 1989Vladimir Horowitz
Awarded: 1990Mahalia Jackson
Awarded: 1972Michael Jackson
Awarded: 2010Etta James
Awarded: 2003Ella Jenkins
Awarded: 2004Antonio Carlos Jobim
Awarded: 2012Robert Johnson
Awarded: 2006George Jones
Awarded: 2012Hank Jones
Awarded: 2009Janis Joplin
Awarded: 2005Juilliard String Quartet
Awarded: 2011B.B. King
Awarded: 1987Carole King
Awarded: 2013The Kingston Trio
Awarded: 2011Led Zeppelin
Awarded: 2005Brenda Lee
Awarded: 2009Peggy Lee
Awarded: 1995John Lennon
Awarded: 1991Jerry Lee Lewis
Awarded: 2005Little Richard
Awarded: 1993Loretta Lynn
Awarded: 2010Henry Mancini
Awarded: 1995Bob Marley
Awarded: 2001Dean Martin
Awarded: 2009Johnny Mathis
Awarded: 2003Curtis Mayfield
Awarded: 1995Paul McCartney
Awarded: 1990the Memphis Horns
Awarded: 2012Glenn Miller
Awarded: 2003Mitch Miller
Awarded: 2000Mills Brothers
Awarded: 1998Charles Mingus
Awarded: 1997Joni Mitchell
Awarded: 2002Thelonious Monk
Awarded: 1993Bill Monroe
Awarded: 1993Jelly Roll Morton
Awarded: 2005Willie Nelson
Awarded: 2000Jessye Norman
Awarded: 2006Roy Orbison
Awarded: 1998Patti Page
Awarded: 2013Charlie Parker
Awarded: 1984Dolly Parton
Awarded: 2011Tom Paxton
Awarded: 2009Pinetop Perkins
Awarded: 2005Itzhak Perlman
Awarded: 2008Oscar Peterson
Awarded: 1997Elvis Presley
Awarded: 1971André Previn
Awarded: 2010Leontyne Price
Awarded: 1989Richard Pryor
Awarded: 2006Tito Puente
Awarded: 2003Ramones
Awarded: 2011Otis Redding
Awarded: 1999Max Roach
Awarded: 2008Paul Robeson
Awarded: 1998Smokey Robinson
Awarded: 1999Rolling Stones
Awarded: 1986Sonny Rollins
Awarded: 2004Diana Ross
Awarded: 2012Artur Rubinstein
Awarded: 1994Gil Scott-Heron
Awarded: 2012Earl Scruggs
Awarded: 2008Pete Seeger
Awarded: 1993Andrés Segovia
Awarded: 1986Ravi Shankar
Awarded: 2013Artie Shaw
Awarded: 2004George Beverly Shea
Awarded: 2011Simon & Garfunkel
Awarded: 2003Frank Sinatra
Awarded: 1965Bessie Smith
Awarded: 1989Georg Solti
Awarded: 1996The Staple Singers
Awarded: 2005Isaac Stern
Awarded: 1987Igor Stravinsky
Awarded: 1987Barbra Streisand
Awarded: 1995Art Tatum
Awarded: 1989the Temptations
Awarded: 2013Clark Terry
Awarded: 2010Mel Tormé
Awarded: 1999Arturo Toscanini
Awarded: 1987Sarah Vaughan
Awarded: 1989Fats Waller
Awarded: 1993Muddy Waters
Awarded: 1992Doc Watson
Awarded: 2004The Weavers
Awarded: 2006Kitty Wells
Awarded: 1991The Who
Awarded: 2001Hank Williams
Awarded: 1987Bob Wills
Awarded: 2007Stevie Wonder
Awarded: 1996Frank Zappa
Awarded: 1997