12th Annual Latin GRAMMY Awards Liveblog

  • Calle 13 perform on the 12th Annual Latin GRAMMY Awards
    Photo: John Shearer/WireImage.com
  • Shakira performs on the 12th Annual Latin GRAMMY Awards
    Photo: John Shearer/WireImage.com
  • Wisin Y Yandel perform with Sean Kingston on the 12th Annual Latin GRAMMY Awards
    Photo: John Shearer/WireImage.com
  • Maná perform on the 12th Annual Latin GRAMMY Awards
    Photo: John Shearer/WireImage.com

12th Annual Latin GRAMMY Awards
Nov. 10, 2011
Mandalay Bay Events Center, Las Vegas
 
8:08 PT/11:08 ET:
And that's it Latin music fans. What a night! And what a night for Calle 13 with a record nine Latin GRAMMY Awards. It will surely be a night to remember for Latin music for years to come. Make sure to keep it tuned to GRAMMY.com for an extensive show recap as well as all the photos from the Biggest Night in Latin Music. A full winners list is available here.

8:02 PT/11:02 ET:
Reyli and Pepe Aguilar joined forces for the closing "Al Fin Me Arme De Valor," a song from Reyli's 2004 debut album En La Luna. It was an authentic Vegas-style ending to a night that zig-zagged between Latin music flair, and social and political commentary.

7:58 PT/10:58 ET:
Calle 13 rounded out an extraordinary night, winning Album Of The Year for Entren Los Que Quieran. Their nine wins mark a Latin GRAMMY record, eclipsing the previous record of five they held with Juanes and Juan Luis Guerra. Coupled with their previous output, Calle 13 now have won 19 Latin GRAMMY Awards in their career!

7:55 PT/10:55 ET:
Score one for Shakira! The 2011 Latin Recording Academy Person of the Year wins for Best Female Pop Vocal Album for Sale El Sol. The stars are definitely shining on Shakira. This marks her eighth career Latin GRAMMY Award. She made a very touching dedication to her parents, her brother and "the great Hispanic family."

7:50 PT/10:50 ET:
One last segment to go. Who will win Album Of The Year? Alex, Jorge Y Lena, Franco De Vita, Enrique Iglesias, Shakira, or tonight's big winners Calle 13? This one is too close to call.

7:48 PT/10:48 ET:
Love doesn't have to be all drama. Alex, Jorge Y Lena's "La Canción Del Pescado" might be the quirkiest (succesful) love song in recent memory in Latin pop.

7:46 PT/10:46 ET:
Kermit the Frog, everybody's favorite Muppet, helped introduce the group Intocable, who were nominated for Best Norteño Album.

7:41 PT/10:41 ET:
"This is incredible, I want to thank Latin America who taught me to write this song," said lyricist/vocalist Residente, who took the opportunity to mention issues such as public education and some of the social struggles going on right now in several countries in Latin America.

7:39 PT/19:30 ET:
Make it eight for Calle 13 with Song Of The Year for "Latinoamérica." (Not that we are counting.) It's turning out to be a record-breaking night. More on that later.

7:34 PT/10:34 ET:
Veterans Los Tigres Del Norte, who broke new ground by performing on "MTV Unplugged," won for Best Norteño Album. For the album, they collaborated with artists such as Andrés Calamaro, Zack de la Rocha (Rage Against The Machine), Diego Torres, Paulina Rubio, and the ubiquitous Calle 13.

7:30 PT/10:30 ET:
We're nearing the home stretch. We have 30 minutes to go and the awards for Song and Album Of The Year are coming up.

7:26 PT/10:26 ET:
Usher and Romeo sang a dialogue in Spanish and English, a performance that could be a highlight of the show. Usher's sweet tone, falsetto and easy delivery seemed ready-made for bachata!

7:22 PT/10:22 ET:
No stranger to the GRAMMY stage, R&B legend Usher is about to make his Latin GRAMMY debut with Romeo Santos for "Promise."

7:21 PT/10:21 ET:
Venezuelan singer/songwriter Franco De Vita won his second award, picking up Best Male Pop Vocal Album for En Primera Fila. De Vita wryly noted "[It's a] good thing Calle 13 was not nominated in this category."

7:19 PT/10:19 ET:
After the social and political message of Calle 13, it was a nice contrast to have some fun with Pitbull and Marc Anthony. Would the Latin GRAMMYs offer anything but the best?

7:17 PT/10:17 ET:
A serious, all-out Vegas production for "Rain Over Me," featuring Pitbull and Marc Anthony. And why not? Latin artists can do this too.

7:13 PT/10:13 ET:
Calle 13 picked up the win, along with Totó La Momposina, Susana Baca y Maria Rita, for the moving "Latinoamérica." The song is a celebration of the social struggles in Latin America.

7:10 PT/10:10 ET:
Calle 13 draws a seven. Collectively, the duo has now won an astonishing 17 Latin GRAMMY Awards during their career.

7:05 PT/10:05 ET:
The award for Record Of The Year will be up next. Can Calle 13 make it seven awards?

7:00 PT/10:00 ET:
The Latin GRAMMY for Best Rock Album went to Maná for Drama Y Luz. These veterans are already four-time Latin GRAMMY winners, but their excitement proves that winning never gets old. "This goes to all the bands of rock en Español. Rock is alive," said Fehr Olvera.

6:58 PT/9:58 ET:
Three-time Latin GRAMMY winner Pepe Aguilar, in charro dress and accompanied by a mariachi band, sang "Canción Mexicana," "a love song for the mother country," as the presenters aptly put it. The tribute to Mexico song included brief excerpts of classics such as "Cielito Lindo."

6:55 PT/9:55 ET:
Up next, a popular singer of mariachi, ranchera and pop music. Also, the award for Best Rock Album. The nominees are Don Tetto, Saúl Hernández, Jarabedepalo, La Vida Bohème, Maná, and No Te Va Gustar. Tito El Bambino, already a winner tonight, and actress Adrienne Bailon will present.

6:53 PT/9:53 ET:
In an evening that has crossed between rap, rock and Mexican songs, singer Cristian Castro, dressed in long tails and accompanied by a band and a string orchestra, provided an old-school performance with a classic sound with "El Triste." This is old-fashioned Latin pop that can still be effective in the right hands and with the right voice.

6:48 PT/9:48 ET:
That's six for Calle 13, picking up Best Urban Song for "Baile De Los Pobres." "I know we don't [get played] on the radio but we do this with great love," said Residente, underscoring a point he made earlier.

6:45 PT/9:45 ET:
Coming up, the award for Best Urban Song. Will Calle 13 make it six? Remember to catch all the backstage action here.

6:39 PT/9:39 ET:
Spanish newcomer Pablo Alborán, who has three nods tonight, and Demi Lovato made a great team for Song Of The Year candidate "Solamente Tú." Their performance was followed by Sie7e's raucous ska-inflected "Tengo Tu Love," a nominee for Best Alternative Song. Black Eyed Peas' Taboo added an extra cool factor. 

6:35 PT/9:35 ET
Singer/songwriter Paula Fernandes (think a Brazilian Shania Twain) and singer Romeo Santos performed "Meu Eu Em Voce" from Fernandes' album Ao Vivo.

6:30 PT/9:30 ET:
Up next, a trio of performances. The striking young star Demi Lovato is set to make her debut on the Latin GRAMMY stage with Pablo Alborán.

6:25 PT/9:25 ET:
"Lo cortés no quita lo valiente," the saying goes in Spanish. (Translated, "Being courtly doesn't take away the courageous.") Very touching words from a genuinely emotional Shakira who called receiving the Person of the Year award "one of the most important moments in my life." She also spoke fondly about last night's tribute, calling it "a night I will never forget," and mentioning that even her father, William Mebarak Chadid, sang. She went on to name many of the artists in the hall, from Alejandra Guzmán and Jorge Drexler to Franco De Vita, calling them "compañeros en la musica" ("companions, partners in music") and dedicating her award to them.

6:20 PT/9:20 ET:
Shakira is up for "only" three awards: Album Of The Year and Best Female Pop Vocal Album for Sale El Sol, and Best Short Form Music Video for "Loca." But the 12th Annual Latin GRAMMY Awards might be Shakira's show. Sofia Vergara, a fellow Barranquillera (from Barranquilla, Colombia), gave her a warm introduction.

6:19 PT/9:19 ET:
A touching tribute, reviewing the career and philanthropic efforts of the one and only Shakira. The striking video went back and forth between sexy pop star and the social activist, segueing nicely into a sexily staged "Loca."

6:14 PT/9:14 ET:
Some amazing performances on tap. Still to come will be Best New Artist winner Sie7e and Cristian Castro. Next, we'll have a "loca" performance by the woman of the hour, 2011 Latin Recording Academy Person of the Year Shakira.

6:07 PT/9:07 ET:
The group consists of multi-instrumentalists Lena Burke, Alex Ubago and Jorge Villamizar. Villamizar is best known as the leader of the Latin GRAMMY-winning band Bacilos. Their win has to be one of the improbable stories of the evening. Burke called the group, "El trio maravilla," but Villamizar cautioned fans that, "This is not a band, it's a singers/songwriters' union."

6:05 PT/9:05 ET:
The trio Alex, Jorge Y Lena pick up honors for Best Pop Album By A Duo Or Group With Vocal.

6:00 PT/9:00 ET
One hour in. The show is moving at a quick pace and is very strong and musically diverse so far. Up next, fresh off his win for Best Regional Mexican Song, a performance by Marco Antonio Solís.

5:59 PT/8:59 ET:
Up next, the award for Best Pop Album By A Duo Or Group With Vocal, with an assist from "Ponch," actor Erik Estrada. Calle 13 has won big so far, with five awards. Track the evening's winners here.

5:56 PT/8:56 ET:
In "Estoy Enamorado," Wisin Y Yandel suggested something like romantic rap, until the stage seems to explode and the image went back to color as Sean Kingston entered for the scintilating "Fire Burning" and "Fever." Vegas rap with dancers, choreography and simulated fire...hot!

5:55 PT/8:55 ET:
Wisin Y Wandel are up for two awards.

5:53 PT/8:53 ET:
Interesting effect as the screen goes black-and-white for Wisin Y Yandel, suggesting celluloid film.

5:50 PT/8:50 ET:
Tito El Bambino won Best Contemporary Tropical Album for Invencible. He initially rose to fame as Tito in the duo Héctor & Tito.

5:46 PT/8:46 ET:
There seems to be a natural chemistry between Venezuelan singer/songwriter Franco De Vita and Latin GRAMMY winner Alejandra Guzmán. They reprised their emotive perfomance in "Tan Solo Tu." De Vita has found gold in reinventing his greatest hits. He has five nominations tonight and already one award for Best Long Form Music Video for En Primera Fila.

5:41 PT/8:41 ET:
Here are a couple of other ways you can follow the Biggest Night in Latin Music. Check out our green-carpet photo gallery. You can also follow a livestream of all the action backstage here

5:38 PT/8:38 ET:
Latin GRAMMY winners Maná have three nominations tonight: Best Rock Album and Best Long Form Music Video for Drama Y Luz, and Best Short Form Music Video for "Lluvia Al Corazón. Nice arrangement and pairing with Prince Royce. The song went very smoothly from a retro '60s pop song to a bachata feel.

5:35 PT/8:35 ET:
Maná sings "Luvia Al Corazón," and now are joined by Prince Royce for "El Verdadero Amor Perdona."

5:32 PT/8:32 ET:
Calle 13 pick up their fifth award of the evening for Best Urban Music Album "without being played on the radio," as Residente noted. Earlier they won for Best Alternative Song and Best Short Form Music Video ("Calma Pueblo") , Best Tropical Song ("Vamo' A Portarnos Mal"), and Producer Of The Year.

5:29 PT/8:29 ET:
Los Tigres Del Norte are up for two awards: Record Of The Year for "Golpes En El Corazón," and Best Norteño Album for Los Tigres Del Norte And Friends MTV Unplugged.

5:26 PT/8:26 ET:
Los Tigres Del Norte with strings and the Golden Girl Paulina Rubio singing "Golpes En El Corazon." Their "MTV Unplugged" show was a historic first by a group of regional Mexican musicians.

5:21 PT/8:21 ET:
Seven-time Latin GRAMMY winner and two-time GRAMMY winner Shakira, who was feted last night as the 2011 Latin Recording Academy Person of the Year, sang "Antes De Las Seis," from her album Sale El Sol. It was a subdued elegant performance in a stage suggesting a park in winter and accompanied by her group, a string orchestra and a koto player.

5:17 PT/8:17 ET:
Puerto Rican singer/songwriter Sie7e, David Rodríguez, who was born July 7, hence his numbered name, won the coveted Best New Artist trophy.

5:14 PT/8:14 ET:
Angelique Boyer presented Best Regional Mexican Song, an award for composers, won by Marco Antonio Solís for "¿A Dónde Vamos A Parar?" He dedicated his win to "to all the people who every day works honestly to reach their objectives."

5:06 PT/8:06 ET:
And a very moving opening with the Orquesta Sinfonica Simon Bolivar, a youth orchestra from Venezuela, conducted by Gustavo Dudamel, and Calle 13 (Residente and Visitante) performing "Latinoamérica," a candidate for Song and Record Of The Year. Residente has said the song was inspired by Rubén Blades' "Buscando America" and the message of celebration and unity, mixing "high" culture and the gritty street sound of Calle 13, was a terrific point to start the show.

5:02 PT/8:02 ET:
Calle 13 is up first, performing "Latinoamérica," backed by an orchestra and conductor Gustavo Dudamel. The duo has already won four awards tonight. They are nominated for a record 10 Latin GRAMMY Awards.

4:50 PT/7:50 ET:
Nobody goes to Las Vegas to play it discreetly. Expect a striking, big-bang opening, a multi-Latin GRAMMY winner, some improbable, provocative pairings, and something memorable. You don't play it safe in Vegas.... Here we go!

1:03 PT/4:03 ET:
Greetings, Latin music fans. Welcome to GRAMMY.com's official liveblog of the 12th Annual Latin GRAMMY Awards. I'm your host, Fernando Gonzalez, and I hope you'll join me this evening for plenty of color commentary and ongoing coverage of all the excitement of the Biggest Night in Latin Music. Our liveblog coverage will begin at 5 p.m./8 p.m. ET.

Which nominees will go home with a new collection of Latin GRAMMY Awards? Who will emerge as tonight's big winner? Which artists will turn in the performances of the night? We'll find out soon! And we invite you to be involved every step of the way. Tell us what you think about tonight's Latin GRAMMY nominees and performers in our comments section below.

Email Newsletter